I got an eMail asking for my Bank details

Today when I came to office and logged in to check my Yahoo!  mail, I saw that I got a Spam mail asking for my bank details. With subject line “ICICI Bank Account Ownership Verification Needed For 2010”.

Scam eMail asking for Bank details

Scam eMail

The very first moment I saw the mail, I realized it’s a scam mail, no bank will send a mail and ask something like that.

If you have notice in the above image, the sender eMail id is From: ICICI Bank <security.check[at]icicibank[dot]com>, but the To: is blank and no personalization “Dear Joydeep”.

Then I checked for eMail header in Yahoo! mail by clicking “Actions > View Full Header”, as I am a web marketing professional I know how to send merge mail or do mass mailing and if the mail has came from the same domain the SMTP details will show up in the header.

View eMail Header

View eMail Header

Bingo there it is, I found what I expected “Received: from idcexchange.nhai.com (” a different SMTP details and not the Bank domain SMTP.

Check eMail IP Header

Check eMail IP Header

Second thing what I noticed was the CTA link from the mail was going to (winregioniv[dot]com) and not to the bank domain. So anyways I clicked the link just to see what happens next.

And boom, thanks to Google Chrome I got the following Warning:

Google Chrome Warning

Google Chrome Warning

The domain winregioniv[dot]com in a spam website which is reported as a “phishing” site. That’s it I didn’t continue further as the link had a Java Servlet called (/onlineverification.do/) I closed the window.

Thanks to Yahoo! Mail and Google Chrome for notifying me in advance that the mail and the website was a scam.

– Joydeep Deb